Kehinde Wiley, Takashi Murakami and several artists reinterpret interscope albums

To celebrate Interscope Records’ 30th anniversary, dozens of acclaimed visual artists have created original works inspired by songs and albums released by the record company’s musical artists over the years. Kehinde Wiley, Damien Hirst, Takashi Murakami, Lauren Halsey, Cecily Brown and several reinterpreted releases by musicians including Olivia Rodrigo, Lady Gaga, 2Pac, Billie Eilish, Kendrick Lamar and Nine Inch Nails – the list goes on.

The commissioned works, over 50 in total, will be on display in a new exhibition entitled “Artists Inspired by Music: Interscope Reimagined” at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) from January 30 to February 13. Three of the works were unveiled today to celebrate the news: Cecily Brown’s bid for Billie Eilish’s EP Do not smile at me, Kehinde Wiley’s interpretation of Dr. Dress The Chronic 2001, and Rashid Johnson’s ode to Kendrick Lamar’s album Good child, MAAD City.

Kehinde Wiley, Takashi Murakami and several artists reinterpret interscope albums
A piece by Cecily Brown inspired by Billie Eilish’s Do not smile at me.


A piece created by Kehinde Wiley inspired by Dr. Dre’s The Chronic 2001.


A piece by Rashid Johnson that pays homage to the Kendrick Lamar album Good child, MAAD City.

Courtesy can also exclusively reveal a piece by LA-based painter Jennifer Guidi inspired by Blackpink’s The album.

“Blackpink has broken barriers for women in so many ways, and I wanted to honor that by going to this project with the idea of ​​feminine power in mind,” Guidi tells “There is a literal recognition of the band by creating a black and pink painting, and I was attracted to the relationship between the two colors – love and romance intertwined with sophistication and mystery – and their complexity as a whole. The painting has the title

‘Seeking Hearts’ to represent the ongoing search for truth, happiness and love. “

sortpink album
Jennifer Guidi’s work inspired by Blackpink’s The album.


The visual artists were chosen over the past year by Interscope co-founder Jimmy Iovine, chairman John Janick, music director Josh Abraham and vice chairman Steve Berman. The team organized the exhibition with LACMA Associate Curator of Decorative Arts and Design, Staci Steinberger. Timed admission tickets go on sale January 20 on LACMA’s website.

See the full list of artists and their musical inspirations below:

  • Adam Pendleton: Dr. Dre – The Chronic
  • Amoako Boafo: 6LACK – FREE 6 LACK
  • Anna Park: Billie Eilish – When we all fall asleep, where are we going?
  • Anna Weyant: Gwen Stefani – The sweet escape
  • Roasted toast: Timbaland – Shock value *
  • Roasted toast: NERD – See sounds *
  • Cecily Brown: Billie Eilish – do not smile at me
  • Chloe Wise: Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!
  • Damien Hirst: Eminem – the entire catalog
  • Derrick Adams: Mary J. Blige – The breakthrough
  • Ed Ruscha: 2Pac – All eyes on me
  • Emily Mae Smith: Nine Inch Nails – Broken
  • Ferrari Sheppard: Blackstreet – “No Diggity”
  • Genesis Tramaine: Summer Walker – Above the
  • Henni Alftan: Olivia Rodrigo – ANGRY
  • Henry Taylor: Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. (“DNA”)
  • Hilary Pecis: Selena Gomez – Rare
  • Issy Wood: Gwen Stefani – Love. Angel. Music. Baby. (“Cool”)
  • Jenna Gribbon: Lana Del Rey – Born to die
  • Jennifer Guidi: Blackpink –The album
  • John Currin: U2 – “Beautiful Day”
  • Jordy Kerwick: MGK – My Downfall Tickets (“My Bloody Valentine”)
  • Julie Curtiss: No doubt – Tragic realm (“Just a girl”)
  • KAWS: Snoop Dogg – Doggystyle
  • Kehinde Wiley: Dr. Dre –The Chronic 2001
  • Lauren Halsey: Kendrick Lamar – To pimp a butterfly
  • Lisa Yuskavage: Billie Eilish – Happier than ever
  • Loie Hollowell: Lady Gaga – Famous monster
  • Lucy Bull: No doubt – Tragic realm (“Spiderwebs”)
  • Mark Quinn: MGK – My Downfall Tickets
  • Matthew WongLana Del Rey Paradise
  • Mr. Fulton Leroy Washington AKA Wash: The Game – The documentary
  • Nicolas Party: Lady Gaga – Joanne
  • Nina Chanel Abney: 2Pac – Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory
  • OSGEMEOS: Black Eyed Peas – THE END
  • Rashid Johnson: Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid MAAD City
  • Raymond Pettibon: Lana Del Rey – Norman Fucking Rockwell
  • Reggie Burrows Hodges: Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid MAAD City (“Swimming pools” (drinking)
  • Richard Prince: Nine Inch Nails – The downward spiral
  • Sayre Gomez: 50 Cent – Get rich or die trying ‘
  • Shepard Fairey: Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Fever to tell
  • Stanley Whitney: Kendrick Lamar – To pimp a butterfly (“King Municipality”)
  • Takashi Murakami: Juice WRLD – Goodbye and Good Riddance
  • Titus Kaphar: Eva – Scorpion
  • Toyin Ojih Odutola: Kendrick Lamar – DAMN.
  • Umar Rashid: 2Pac – Me against the world
  • Will Boone: Helmet – In the meantime

    * NFT

    Erica Gonzales is the Senior Culture Editor at, where she oversees coverage on TV, movies, music, books and more.

    This content is created and maintained by a third party and imported into this site to help users enter their email addresses. You may find more information about this and similar content on

Follow us on Google News

Disclaimers for

All the information on this website – – is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website (, is strictly at your own risk. will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *